Frank Lloyd Wright designed some of the United States’ most iconic structures, from Fallingwater to the Guggenheim Museum. But toward the end of his career, the architect sketched something decidedly more mundane: a four-square-foot doghouse.
In 1956, Wright drew up plans for “Eddie’s House,” now on permanent display at the Marin County Civic Center (which Wright also designed) in San Rafael, California. It is the smallest structure Wright ever designed—and coincidentally, it’s now kept at the architect’s largest existing building, notes a statement from the civic center.
Like many of Wright’s designs, the doghouse features a low, asymmetrical roof with a large overhang. Also like many of Wright’s larger structures, the doghouse roof leaks, per the civic center.
The story behind the doghouse is just as adorable as the structure itself. After Robert and Gloria Berger hired Wright to design their family home in Marin County, California, in the 1950s, the couple’s 12-year-old son, Jim, asked the architect to sketch out a matching doghouse for their Labrador retriever, Eddie. Jim even offered to pay for it with money he earned from his paper route.