Finland scraps coronavirus quarantine for certain European tourists

submited by
Style Pass
2020-06-24 10:19:04

The Finnish government announced plans on Tuesday to scrap a 14-day quarantine period for leisure travellers arriving from some other European countries from July 13, provided COVID-19 infection rates do not rise.

Countries that qualify for the easing of restrictions will be those where infections do not pass a maximum of eight cases per 100,000 inhabitants over a period of two weeks, Interior Minister Maria Ohisalo said.

On the basis of Tuesday’s numbers, this would include Italy, Germany, Austria, Greece, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Lichtenstein, Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland, the government said.

It said it would confirm the list of qualifying countries closer to the date. Finland had until now allowed only work-related travel from most countries.

Ohisalo said the government continued to urge caution so as not to put at risk the positive developments seen in fighting COVID-19 in Finland, where the infection rate has been 3.2 cases per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks.

Leave a Comment